This article is an accompanying piece of my latest article entitled Owe the IRS 50,000 or Less? Do you want a payment agreement? Try it yourself. In the IRS article, I wrote about the new “Fresh Start” initiative to enter into a phased payment agreement with the IRS if the taxpayer owed $50,000 or less. You don`t need a CPA or a lawyer to negotiate a payment agreement. You can do this yourself by calling an IRS tax number. Even if you can`t pay your tax debt, it`s important to contact the FTB. Ignoring your tax notices leads to the accumulation of interest and penalties, as well as the possible seizure of assets you own. If you pay your taxes by a catch-up period agreement, all future government and federal tax refunds will be applied to your balance until it is fully refunded. You are not eligible for this program if your account is currently subject to a hold, continuous order to hold order or a tax profit withholding order. Check the status of your missed contract application. If you do not make arrangements to refund your taxes, the state will issue a pledge. This 10-year public registration gives the state a right to your property.
If you do not act once a pledge has been deposited, your wages, accounts, real estate and vehicles can be confiscated to satisfy your tax debt. If the California Franchise Tax Board rejects your request for a temperable contract, it will send you a notice with the reason for the refusal. If you feel the refusal is inappropriate, you or your tax representative can call or write to the FTB to explain why. As a general rule, the FTB should not take your assets for 30 days after a temperature agreement is refused and during the review of that refusal if you request a review within 30 days of the refusal. Learn how to set payment plans for our customers. If you do not pay your full income tax obligation until the date it is due and payable, the outstanding amount could be met by the interception of funds owed to you by the federal government, other states or other California authorities. If you do not think you are liable for this debt, you or your tax representative should contact the California Franchise Tax Board within 30 days of receiving a tax return or return to avoid a possible interception. Find out how we protect your rights and assets.